Assassin’s Creed 2 Extortion?

November 2, 2009

Ok, so while wandering around some gamer sites just now I saw an advertisement for Assassin’s Creed 2 that I found to be a bit disturbing. It said “Pre-order now for an exclusive in game map!” Now, I’ve only been gaming since like 1985-86 so maybe I don’t know what I’m talking about here, but isn’t an in game map something that should come standard?!? Especially for a game world as big as I’m sure this one will be. If the size of the first game’s world is any indication I DO NOT want to wander around a world that size without some sort of in game map to keep from getting disoriented.

Am I crazy? Is our whole gaming universe going to shit at the hands of greedy corporate MF’rs or is it just me? This is getting way out of hand. I’ll pre-order a game if you include something cool. Hell, I bought the Legendary edition of Halo3 just for the replica Master Chief helmet. But asking me to pre-order your game so that I can have access to the only thing that would make playing a game this size feasible without hours of wandering around lost and frustrated? That’s extortion kiddies, and extortion is bad. These corporations are really starting to piss me off. We need a revolution, we need to take back gaming. Before it gets to the point where main characters start walking around with company logos for faces.

I REALLY hope I’m blowing this out of proportion and the map offered to pre-orders is a hidden item map or something. I’d like to think that my hobby isn’t being controlled by complete pricks. But after seeing what Microsoft plans to dish out with the new 360 dashboard update… I just don’t know what to think anymore. Other than that, the only prick I can think of off hand that makes games is “Cliffy B” wunderkind uber-whore extreme. I’m sure if I weren’t so tired I could probably think of at least one or two more.

~Penguin Out.

Leave a Reply

