The Beatles: Rockband

November 2, 2009

This should be a pretty straight forward review. Especially since this game did not star the voice acting of Mark Hamill. 😉

All in all I’d have to say this game was a pretty solid and enjoyable experience. A decent addition to the growing library of Rockband titles. The story mode seemed to be just the right length, so it stayed enjoyable without getting tiresome. I found most of the tracks to be an absolute blast to play, especially with 4-5 friends there to enjoy them with me. Everyone has heard classics like “Eight Days a Week” and “I Saw Her Standing There”, so there’s little worry about having a band member feel left out because it’s the first time they’ve heard the song you’re playing. If you’ve played any other Rockband game there’s no learning curve because the game is basically set up the same way. Only difference is that you unlock period band pictures for getting 3-5 stars on each song. Each picture also comes with a small factoid about The Beatles, so they serve as an interesting distraction when/if your hands start to get tired from all the rocking.

The only problem I encountered with the game occured while singing. I had a hard time activating “Beatlemania” (star power) while trying to sing several of the songs. My only guess as to why would have to be that the songs in question didn’t offer much time between verses with which to actually ATTEMPT to activate it. But the ability to sing harmonies with my friends DID make for an enjoyable party experience.

I grew up listening to oldies radio stations with my father, so I thought I had a pretty good idea what The Beatles were all about, but apparently I was wrong. I had never heard most of the songs from the latter half of the band’s career. I’m assuming that’s because the average “oldies” fan isn’t a big fan of hippies. I’m sure they’ve got scientists wasting taxpayer money researching this as we speak. But sadly, we may never know the truth. Either way, you cannot deny that the Beatles’ songs from the mid to late 60’s got quite… trippy, for lack of a better word. If you enjoy that time period in the band’s history then rest assured that the game’s visuals are just as psychedelic.

All things considered I think I’d give it an 8/10 score.

Leave a Reply

