Dante’s Inferno

February 26, 2010

Delightfully sick and twisted in all the right ways!

Wow, where to begin? The art style of this game blew me away. The Hi Def cut scenes are incredible. The opening movie, where you watch Dante stitch the cross from his crusader’s outfit INTO his chest is unbelievable! The amount of detail in his face, the intense pain you see in his eyes and facial expression as he’s pulling the string tight against his flesh is something I have NEVER seen before, not even in a big budget 3d movie. Though admittedly I have yet to see Avatar, so that one might come close, I don’t know yet. Anyways, that scene almost hurt to watch, it was stunning. Kudos to the team who pulled THAT off.

The level design of this game is just amazing! The design for the Circle of hell devoted to the sin of Lust reminds me of the work of H.R. Giger, although no one could surpass Giger’s attention to detail when it comes to sci-fi alien vag imagery. The Gluttony level is like walking through someone’s intestines, all moist and pulsating. The fighting is intense, with lots of enemies on the screen at the same time, but it’s not ridiculously cluttered and confusing the way I found Bayonetta to be. The combos are pretty cool, and can be powered up and tricked out with the souls you collect by slaying your enemies. There are plenty of Holy and Unholy relics to find and collect throughout the game which offer subtle tweaks to the gameplay when equiped. Also hidden throughout the game are “Judas coins” and special Damned Souls that you can choose to either damn or absolve for bonus souls and experience on the Unholy or Holy paths respectively. Absolving them offers the most bonus souls through a little mini game that I only found tiresome on my second playthrough.

What I find strange is that all the so called “expert” game reviewers all seem to be complaining that this game is a God of War clone. It’s a fun game style, why NOT use it in other games. No one complains about new FPS games being clones, despite the retarded number of WWII games on the market right now. Besides, considering that the God of War franchise has been a Playstation exclusive and I have never (and WILL never) own a Playstation console, I found this style of gameplay to be new and enjoyable. So they can all eat a fat one.

The only thing I had a problem with is that the game felt short to me. My first playthrough clocked in at about 7-8 hours, and after the amount of time I put into Mass Effect 2 this game just felt like it was over too quick. I would still totally recommend picking this game up for it’s unique and disturbing atmosphere though. And over all I’d say it was about an 8 out of 10.

And as a side note, EA plans to release a downloadable “multiplayer” mode to the game sometime in March (I think). But as far as I can tell, all it will do is allow you to create gauntlet style arena battles for other people to fight their way through, and then post online scoreboards of the time it took them to complete each arena. It sounds lame to ME, and I sure as hell don’t plan on paying EXTRA for it, but hey, that’s just MY opinion.

~Penguin out

Leave a Reply

